• Defending Workers’ Compensation Rights in Central Illinois

    Located in Springfield, Illinois, we serve clients throughout Decatur, Jacksonville and surrounding Central Illinois communities.

    Brad Bucklin has handled and tried thousands of Workers' Compensation cases and has handled appeals in the Industrial Commission/Workers' Compensation Commission, the Circuit Courts, and the Appellate Courts, for clients and against insurance companies. He has lectured on Workers' Compensation law since 1992. Have you been injured due to your work? If you've been injured on the job, regardless of where you work, it's smart to consult with a lawyer immediately after the injury to find out about your rights and to know what to do and what not to do. Many people fail to consult with a lawyer after their injuries and they fail to do things that are essential for their case. If you're hurt, even if you don't hire a lawyer, please talk to one in order to get a general idea of what's required. Bucklin Law Office provides legal assistance to injured workers of all industries in Springfield, Illinois, and throughout the surrounding communities of Decatur, Jacksonville, and Central Illinois. As a local law firm, we take pride in serving our neighbors with legal advice that helps them receive the compensation they deserve. Questions about workers’ comp? Read more below or contact us to schedule an initial consultation of your claims!

  • What is Workers’ Compensation?

    Under Illinois law, business owners must retain workers’ comp insurance for the benefits of their employees. Additionally, the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission (IWCC) enforces the state laws and determines eligible benefits to employees. Furthermore, benefits received from a claim are paid after three days of work are missed at the rate of 66.66% of your weekly earnings. Finally, any permanent disfigurement due to an accident may be compensated with up to 162 weeks of pay at 60% of your weekly rate. Consult with your attorney for more details about filing claims.

  • When to File a Workers’ Comp Claim

    In the State of Illinois, those wishing to file workers’ comp claims must notify their employer regarding the accident within 45 days of the occurrence of the injury and must file the case within 3 years. Waiting longer to do either may forfeit your right to collect compensation for your injuries. Tell your employer about your injury as soon as it happens, preferably in writing.

    By law, they must provide a list of approved physicians and notify their insurance company to start the claims process. However, there are some exceptions to this rule. Illnesses which develop slowly, and with increasing severity, may be accepted as exceptions to the 45-day filing requirement; as long as the ailment is job-related and debilitating.

  • Medical Treatment for Workers’ Comp Injuries

    It’s important to note that in the state of Illinois, you don’t have to see a doctor that’s listed in your employer’s approved list of physicians. You’re entitled to medical treatment from no more than two physicians of your choosing and any physicians you’re referred to by those physicians. Don’t get trapped into working with a doctor that may not have your best interest in mind!

  • How to File a Workers’ Compensation Claim

    If you’ve sustained an on-the-job injury, the general process will follow something like this:

    • Notify your employer immediately. In the State of Illinois, you have 45 days from the time you tell your employer about an injury and 90 days from exposure to radiation to bring a workers’ comp claim.
    • The injured worker should file a claim with the Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission immediately after the accident to be safe and to have easy access to a hearing if the insurer doesn't pay for medical treatment or doesn't pay temporary total disability benefits.
    • Next, your employer will notify their workers’ comp administrator or insurance company to report that you have filed a claim. They determine your eligibility for compensation.
    • Then, your employer will either begin workers’ comp payments or will deny your claim.
    • Finally, we file a hearing with the Workers’ Compensation Commission to present your claims. They have the final say in deciding who does and does not receive compensation.